जब छोड़ चले लख्ननऊ नगरी

जब छोड़ चले लख्ननऊ नगरी ,               indian-rail

कहें हाल के हम पर क्या ग़ुज़्ररी

There is an attachment that each of us has to the places where we were born.Having spent our childhood in wonder running after butterflies and chasing rainbows,playing silly little games with our chums,eating and sleeping at will,getting scolded by almost everyone who got annoyed by our constant flow of energy.There is really no difference in the places and people whether now and then,only we have changed.When we were young everything around us was a posiibility,a dream,a hope,a mystery.As life took us through its myriad lanes of deciet,competition,money,power,lust,information,death,destruction what got killed in us was the simplicity of our heart,the innocence.That is one reason we keep coming back to the time and place where we had felt alive.

Another strong attachment is Family.Father,Mother,Siblings,Uncles,Aunts cousins.You have a sense of getting rooted,a sense of belonging,you don’t just exist here,you live.You make what this place is all about.The people around you are yours.They think,talk,walk,learn,fail,laugh like you.Their actions are similiar and their reactions same.You don’t belong to Lucknow,it belongs to you.You are a part of the landscape not an alien planted from outside .There is no possibility that you can find that level of identification,connect and concern anywhere else.

लखनऊ हम पर फिदा और हम फिदा ए लखनऊ,                  rumi_th

क्या है ताक़त आसमां की ,हमसे छुड़ाए लखनऊ

You can take me out of Lucknow

But you can never take Lucknow out of me.

My love for poetry comes from the city I lived and loved in.When times were bad and friends were not around I found peace in books and poetry.Must be in my DNA as I instantly took to shaayari as it had always been a part of my being,for ages.Majaaz Lucknowi on whose book I have named this blog inspired me and I continue to discover new gems every now and then.I recently saw an old picture of him and found that my father used to look almost like him in his younger days.Both of them belong to a place near Barabanki.I am sure people used to dress that way in those times and looks were inspired by cinema but that’s how a colletive mind is born.A mind that cannot but think similiarly.As I travelled more and more I realized that how different we were from other people and how we got a feeling of calmness when I was amongst my own.In India everything starts and ends with religion whether you are a hindu or a muslim but in China many of the young people do not even have the concept of religion,even God.

जिन से हम छूट गए अब वो जहां कैसे हैं   lko2

वो मक़ीं कैसे हैं शीशे के मकां कैसे हैं

ए सबा तू तो उधर से ही गुज़रती होगी

उस गली में मेरे पैरों के निशां कैसे हैं

Now I am asking for trouble but I will speak the truth nevertheless.The concept and idea of beauty changes from place to place but not really from time to time.I always found women from Lucknow more attractive not only because of their face and form but also their word and thought drew my mind more than the others.The nazaaqat , nafaasat,the values,ethos,whims and fancies belong only to the women born in this beautiful city.Once again enlarging the context you will seldom find westeners getting attracted to African women or Arabs getting attracted to chinese.I am not talking sex but actual relationships.It is very difficult to relate to someone who is very different from you.at least for lesser evolved minds like me.I am not John Lenon.

girl-in-black-and-white

खुदा आबाद रखे लखनऊ फिर भी गनीमत है

कहीं न कहीं कोई अच्छी सूरत दिख ही जाती है

And lastly you have to come back where it all started

बहुत धूप थी ज़रा सी शाम कर लें

बहुत दौड़ॆ ज़रा आराम कर लें

खुद को खो कर इस शहर की खाक़ में

नए  फिर अपने जिस्म ओ जान कर लें

In our parts older women will put it something like this :

अऊते कैसे नाहीं , उनकी नाल हिएं गड़ी जऊन है

( He had to die where his umbilical chord lies buried)

Even Josh Malihabadi has said :

अब्र तक़ रहने ना देना तुम दक़न की खाक़ में

दफ्न करना अपने शायर को वतन की खाक़ में

(Literally translates don’t let me be there in deccan till eternity,bury your poet in the dust of his beloved land.)

Above lines were written by Josh Malihabadi when he was appointed in the royal court in Hyderabad and after almost a century I am writing about the same emotion living in Hyderabad.

So I just hope that one day when all is done and over I will get a chance to pass my days in the bylanes and bazaars of Lucknow enjoying a drink in the evening and a walk in the morning.

23 comments on “जब छोड़ चले लख्ननऊ नगरी

  1. Ktheleo says:

    अभी हाल में लखनऊ में था ,शायद और खूबसूरती की ओर बढ रहा है शहर!
    Its been long that you visited ’सच में’

    • aahang says:

      haan main bhi last month lucknow mein tha.saundaryikaran pe kaafi zor hai behen ji ka.Idhar blogging ka time hee nahin mil raha..kya batayein

  2. aarka says:

    gar lucknow se galey milney ka naseeb hua hai
    tehzeeb o adab ka zaykaa kareeb hua hai
    to aapki zahne shaqsiyat kay itradaan
    ki khushboo kay honge tamaam kadradaan.

    • aahang says:

      क्या बात है जनाब आपने तो ज़र्रे को आफताब कर दिया और ये कतात तो वाह क्या केह्ने.मिलते रहियेगा …… आहंग

  3. falaque says:

    bhai sahab,
    bus maja aa gaya, aapki shayri padh k aor Lakhnau k baare main padh k. Bus ye samajh li jiye ki, hum bhi zindagi ko apne shahar chhod aaye hain:

    wo pipal ki chhaon, wo kuwen ka paani,
    bus jeene k liye ham ghar chhod aaye.
    ek din zaroor falak hum jayenge wapas,
    zindagi ko apne jis shahar chhod aaye.

    (aap k blog pe aa k hum bhi shayar ban gaye ;))

    • aahang says:

      Bahut Bahut Shukriya ! aur apne jo sher kaha ki hum waapas zaroor jayenge, wo dard hum sab mehsoos karte hain par har koi aapki tarah express nahin kar paata.you have the talent – keep it up.

  4. ktheleo says:

    Aahang,
    your ‘Lucnow Prem’ is really commendable.
    Its been long that you visited one of your blogs: “sachmein” (http://sachmein.blogspot.com/)
    Hope to see you there some time!
    With regards ‘Happy Bloging’!

    • aahang says:

      गुर्बत में हों अगर हम रहता है दिल वतन में,

      समझो वहीं हमें भी दिल हो जहां हमारा
      सारे जहां से अच्छा लखनऊ शहर हमारा ….
      Will visit your blog soon !

  5. Dude.. kaifi aazmi ka ek sher hai–

    azaao mein bahte the aansoo, yahan lahoo to nahin
    ye koi aur jagah hogi, lucknow to nahi….

    I love lucknow…and that forced me to add your feed to my feed reader 🙂 keep writing bhai saheb 🙂

    • rajnish kumar says:

      हमारी पीढियां लखनऊ में रहीं सो इस शहर से एक लगाव लाजमी है.दुख होता है जब देखता हूं कि लखनऊ का कल्चर और उसकी आबो हवा में वो बात नहीं रही.चलिये हम आप जैसे कुछ लोग शम्मा को जलाये रक्खें तो भी गनीमत है.
      दुश्यंत कुमार का शेर है :

      थोडी आग बची रहने दो,थोडा धुआं निकलने दो

      कल देखोगी कई मुसाफिर इसी बहाने आएंगे ….

      ब्लाग पर आते रहने के लिए तहे दिल से शुक्रिया !

  6. Shilpa Garg says:

    Hey! My sentiments exactly! We stayed in Lucknow for just a year and we have stayed in a no. of cities from Mumbai to Jaipur, Jodhpur and Jammu, but Lucknow IS THE BEST!
    We just loved our stay there!
    It is just amazing!

    • aahang says:

      I can bet you were at the cantonment.That is in fact the most beautiful part of the city.The old garrison church tells me so many stories every time I look at it.
      कुछ बात है कि हस्ती मिटती नहीं हमारी
      सदियों रहा है दुश्मन दौर ए जहां हमारा
      Thanks for sharing your sentiments with me.

  7. Nishchaya says:

    Have been to Lucknow a couple of times mostly for catching up my pals. But, indeed, the city is great. Reminds me of the lost heritage and the dying culture. Wah kya nazakat, kya tehzeeb.
    Street food is great as well. Have loitered in Ameenabad, ate the famous kulfi of Prakash. Magical!

  8. adarnay says:

    I’ve never been to India, but as one of our better western books has it in its title, I am “Richer by India.” And this posting is another stone in that mosaic. Terrific. I wish’d you translate (in small type if necessary) the language whose script we ignorant Westerners can’t even turn into sounds much less meaning.

    Now what you say about the soil of youth and also about relating to women is very true. We must marry into our own culture, at least the spiritual culture, if we are to reach the comfort of self-evidence.

    • aahang says:

      जब छोड़ चले लख्ननऊ नगरी ,
      कहें हाल के हम पर क्या ग़ुज़्ररी
      Is read as :
      Jab Chhod Chale Lucknow Nagri
      kahein haal ke hum par kya Guzari
      Translates to :
      When I had to Leave the city of Lucknow
      I can’t tell you what it had to go through
      These lines were Penned by Nawab Wajid Ali Shah who was a renowned poet of his times and he was so much loved by his people that they used to sing his poetry in the streets of Lucknow.
      He wrote the above lines when The British Viceroy Lord Dalhousie annexed the state of Awadh of which the nawab was the ruler and he was sent into Exile at Kolkata.
      You can watch this beautiful piece of history in my post Shatranj Ke Kihiladi and Lucknow Scene 2 and
      Scene 3.
      लखनऊ हम पर फिदा और हम फिदा ए लखनऊ,
      क्या है ताक़त आसमां की ,हमसे छुड़ाए लखनऊ
      Lucknow hum par fida Aur hum Fida e Lucknow
      Kyaa hai Taaqat Aasma kee humse Chhudaye Lucknow
      Translates to :
      I am in Love with Lucknow and Lucknow is in Love with me
      Even the Skies do not have the power to pull it away from me
      जिन से हम छूट गए अब वो जहां कैसे हैं
      वो मक़ीं कैसे हैं शीशे के मकां कैसे हैं
      ए सबा तू तो उधर से ही गुज़रती होगी
      उस गली में मेरे पैरों के निशां कैसे हैं
      jinse hum choot gaye ab wo jahaan kaise hain
      wo makeen kaise hain sheeshe ke makaan kaise hain
      Ai saba tu to udhar se hi guzartee hogee
      uss gali mein mere pairon ke Nishan kaise hain
      Translates to :
      The words which I had to leave tell me how are they
      How are those beautiful houses and the people who lived in them
      O morning breeze you if you go that way
      just let me know how are my footprints on the street where used live
      I am not sure if I have done justice to the translation but when you sing it with a warm heart it brings tears to anyone who is away from his native place
      खुदा आबाद रखे लखनऊ फिर भी गनीमत है
      कहीं न कहीं कोई अच्छी सूरत दिख ही जाती है
      Translates to :
      O God please may the city of Lucknow always Flourish
      You can always hope to see a pretty face somewhere
      बहुत धूप थी ज़रा सी शाम कर लें
      बहुत दौड़ॆ ज़रा आराम कर लें
      खुद को खो कर इस शहर की खाक़ में
      नए फिर अपने जिस्म ओ जान कर लें
      Let’s take respite from teh hot sun,spen and evening
      Let’s stop running and rest for a while
      Let’s loose ourselves in the dust of this city
      and take from it a new soul,a new body.
      I am visiting Lucknow today for business and to visit my parents who still live here.Have bought a bunch of books in Hindi as you do not get them in Hyderabad where I live now.
      Hope that they don’t detain me at the airport.No one carries these many books these days.

  9. aahang says:

    I got my first real six string
    bought it at the five and dime
    played it till my fingers bled
    was the summer of sixty nine
    Me and some guys from school
    had a band and we tried real hard
    Jimmy quit Jody got married
    I should ‘ve known we’ll never get far
    and when I look back now
    that summer seems to last forever
    Those were the best days of life
    Back in the summer of sixty nine.

    You are right.Life was one big roller coaster with friends,fun,foolishness and fundas that would last a lifetime.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts,Bro.

  10. Avanish says:

    I share the very same sentiment for Lucknow which you have so wonderfully expressed. The place where I have spent the first twenty eight years of my life keeps calling me. I have had good times living elsewhere but the yearning is to go back and enjoy the days like we used to. But its also to do with that the period we spent in Lucknow was our childhood and youth, which are the best and most enjoyable periods in one’s life. Our that you become the bull or donkey carrying all the load of a working family life. But still if we were in Lucknow, I would liek to believe it would have been the same pleasure that Lucknow offers!

Leave a Reply

