क्या समझती हो कि तुमको भी भुला सकता हूँ मैं

अपने दिल को दोनों आलम से उठा सकता हूँ मैं
क्या समझती हो कि तुमको भी भुला सकता हूँ मैं             couple-on-the-beach

You think I can’t let go of both worlds,I can

You think I can’t forget you ,I can

कौन तुमसे छीन सकता है मुझे क्या वहम है
खुद जुलेखा से भी तो दामन बचा सकता हूँ मैं

It’s your misgiving that you can lose me to her

I can myself be indifferent to that beauty,I can.

दिल मैं तुम पैदा करो पहले मेरी सी जुर्रतें
और फिर देखो कि तुमको क्या बना सकता हूँ मैं

Sow in yourself the same audacity I have

and I will make you someone else ,I can.

दफ़न कर सकता हूँ सीने में तुम्हारे राज़ को
और तुम चाहो तो अफसाना बना सकता हूँ मैं

I can bury your deepest secrets If I will

and I can make them a legend if you want,I can.

तुम समझती हो कि हैं परदे बहुत से दरमियाँ
मैं यह कहता हूँ कि हर पर्दा उठा सकता हूँ मैं

You think that there are lots of curtains that hide

I say I will lift each one of them if I wish,I can.

तुम कि बन सकती हो हर महफ़िल मैं फिरदौस-ए-नज़र
मुझ को यह दावा कि हर महफ़िल पे छा सकता हूँ मैं

Yes you may be the heavenly gaze in any gathering

But I challenge that I can be the life of any party,I can.

आओ मिल कर इन्किलाब ताज़ा पैदा करें
दहर पर इस तरह छा जाएं कि सब देखा करें

Let’s get together and start a a revolution afresh,

and be such that everyone looks at us and says Wow!

~ Majaz Lucknowi

~ interpretative translation By aahang

Leave a Reply

