India meets Bharat

This picture was taken  at one of the Choupal Saagar rural retail malls operated by an Indian corporate.

Image277

What’s curious about the scene is the manner in which the villager is looking on, unsure of himself as Shakira grooves on “Hips don’t lie”.While we have imbibed obscenity as Salsa in our urban lives the rural folks are still in two minds.

To me the picture is symbolic of the crossroads at which Indian morality stands today.

To be or not to be is finally the big question …..

7 comments on “India meets Bharat

  1. Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read…

    -Bill-Bartmann

  2. Ravi Lobo says:

    Ahang, too deep for me, But then I am not a peot. All the best.

    • aahang says:

      I think you put your comment on the wrong post.About poetry being complex I would like to narrate an incidence from Ghalib’s life.
      Someone told him that what you write is too difficult for me to understand.Can’t you write something simple.To this Ghalib read out a sher in Farsi which goes like this :
      आसान कहने की करते हैं फरमाइश
      गोयम मुश्किल वगर्ना मुश्किल गोयम
      He asks me to write something simple
      but if I don’t write difficult it’s difficult to write
      I am no Ghalib but it is an interesting piece I thought I will share with you.

  3. I somehow feel morality is relative and changes w.r.t time and space….
    I can not say if it is lack of availability or a sheer curiosity butit may be combination of both….

    • aahang says:

      That is in fact what I am trying to convey but what goes beyond the obvious is the fact that while such a hip swinging act is absolutely OK in Mumbai or Delhi it still raises eyebrows elsewhere.Things are changing faster though..

  4. Grayquill says:

    Curiosity is a strong pull. Can’t him for that.

    • aahang says:

      That applies to all of us so no value judgment here.A Shakira video is a part of the urban landscape while rural may take a while for it to become a part of their scenery.

Leave a Reply

