And we shall be dangerous..

Defeat, my Defeat, my solitude and my

aloofness;

You are dearer to me than a thousand

triumphs,

And sweeter to my heart than all world

glory.

Defeat, my Defeat, my self-knowledge

and my defiance,

Through you I know that I am yet young

and swift of foot

And not to be trapped by withering

laurels.

And in you I have found aloneness

And the joy of being shunned and

scorned.

Defeat, my Defeat, my shining sword

and shield,

In your eyes I have read

That to be enthroned is to be enslaved,

And to be understood is to be leveled

down,

And to be grasped is but to reach ones

fullness

Defeat, my Defeat, my bold companion,

You shall hear my songs and my cries

and my silences,

And none but you shall speak to me of

the beating of wings,

And urging of seas,

And of mountains that burn in the night,

And you alone shall climb my steep and

rocky soul.

Defeat, my Defeat, my deathless

courage,

You and I shall laugh together with the

storm,

And together we shall dig graves for all

that dies in us,

And we shall stand in the sun with a will,

And we shall be dangerous

~ Kahlil Gibran, The Madman 

Leave a Reply

