Old Man and the Sea

I had bought this one some 15 years ago. It was a thin book may be a 100 odd pages but I found it too boring to go beyond some 15-20 pages and gave up. I picked it up again a few years ago but once more I couldn’t manage to cross the threshold. But like the old man I am also a stubborn guy so I picked it up again today.This time I could totally relate to the characters and the story – the old man’s struggle, the challenging spirit of the Merlin, the cruel destiny in the form of sharks, the apathy of people and relations, love of the young apprentice and finally the fact the fight to prove is only with oneself. I guess as years add up they bring more clarity about life, about who we are and what it means to be living. That’s the principle difference between growing old and getting old. Now I can die in peace without the fear of facing Hemingway – what you never finished reading my book !! How fishy ??

Leave a Reply

