Wisdom of the rain

An answer to my prayer

The Rain is hereSky Blue

a torrent of hope for the land so dry

In drops big and small,it falls from the sky

As far as eyes can see

the scene is wet, watery

The little boys boat  sails afar

The lovers  get cosy in the car

The baker looks sadly at his unsold cake

the maid take off for an excuse fake

The poet  sings  to the passing cloud

the youngsters dance on a music loud

The old man thinks of a time gone by

I give my post another try

Just pause and think ;what’s happening

Does the sky even have an inkling

We pray for rains and it does not budge

and then it pours the streets are smudge

Its natural; sure it is

but even we are progenies

of the same creation

water – hydrogen,oxygen

The nature tells us a lesson

just be like me

Doing what you feel like

not what’s necessary

If you feel like singing ; sing

If you feel like dancing ; dance

If you feel like crying ; cry

No pleasure or pain,No loss no gain

You have no one to please but you

You have no life to live, but yours.

~ By aahang

12 comments on “Wisdom of the rain

  1. Grayquill says:

    That was great writing quite beautiful
    “You have no one to please but you”
    I think that is a belief that will not end well for you.

    • aahang says:

      Thank you for your comment.
      Just like a healthy mind resides in a healthy body only a happy mind can create a joyous world around it.
      As you mature the fleeting and transitory nature of the world is revealed and your search for the “self” starts.There comes a time when the only answers you want is for your own questions,everything else ceases to have a meaning.I guess I am growing older at a faster pace….:-)

      • Grayquill says:

        As I have spent a whole minute thinking about your response. “only answers you want it for your own questions” – this seems like a person who is trying to avoid the consequences of his actions. No guilt, no responsibility, what I do is about me. I must not understand what you are saying. I for sure have no idea what search for the self means. I am me and here I am, I don’t think I have to look for me. I have often heard people say I have to go find myself. All that means to me is the stress of life has become too great and I am going to escape so I don’t have to deal with this stress. Is that what your are saying? I am pretty sure I am missing the point.

      • aahang says:

        No sir.I will try to explain it from the point of view of Hindu thought which I have grown up thinking and living.The upanishads talk about the wave ocean analogy which says that the wave is a wave till the ‘realization’ that it is the ocean too.All our worries come from the fear of death..that is the primal fear.The wave is afraid of reaching a high point and then dissipation and death.The moment it realizes that its just a form that the water has taken, it becomes the ocean. From then on it is at peace with itself rejoicing in its being.
        I had put a post ‘Peace Mantra’ few days back which talks about something similar.If you click on the you tube video at the end of its chanting they say Om Shanti,Shanti,Shanti – which means May I be at peace with my body ,at peace with my mind and with my external environment.
        If you feel contended with yourself there is no need to go looking outside.I think you are one of those rare souls which is just great.
        My post in particular is neither about ‘escapism’ or ‘existentialism’ it is just about enjoying your own company;the way kids do it :-))

  2. “Just pause and think ;what’s happening

    Does the sky even have an inkling”

    Straight from heart 🙂 nice writing

  3. Hi there,
    I believe that poetry is for ears and you’ve made it rhyme very sweetly.

    Have a nice day!

    • aahang says:

      Hi Sunil,
      I am not very much inclined or even good at rhyming as I believe that the thought gets lost/compromised when you put boundaries around it.I am glad you liked what you heard.Thank you so much.

  4. shilpa says:

    very good..your insights are deep and the attempt to make it rhyme has also come up well.

    • aahang says:

      Thanks.Actually I have not been able to give time to put it together properly.Your encouragement always gives me wings.

  5. Ravi Lobo says:

    Nice post Rajnish.

    Did you check the changes on Indivine? Lots of new things are happening; didn’t find you there. Don’t miss the train!

Leave a comment