Phono-graphy

दिल में बसा रखी  है तस्वीर ए यार , जब जी चाहा गर्दन झुकायी और देख लिया

I have a picture of my beloved in my heart, I can look at it when ever I want to

Looking at some of the old ‘family photographs’ taken by my ancestors in the early part of 20th century I wonder if people had any different notion about capturing memories and beautiful moments which happen around all of us all the time.In those days it was perhaps a much awaited event when the photographer will come home, people will dress up in their best clothes and he will click and bring a copy may be a few days later.It was quite the same when our ‘class pictures’ were taken when I was in school.A friend posted one of these on face book from may be when we were in class 10th or something and I was so disappointed to see that I was not in the picture.I can’t recall but may be I fell sick or something on the eventful day but what was heartening to see were the happy shiny faces of my friends some 20 years back.

Things have changed and they have changed for the better.The Camera phone has enabled all of us to be photographers all the time and to capture life as it happens without any strain on our schedule or our wallets.It’s a simple process – You find something interesting just aim and press the button,If You like what you see, store it or else just press the delete button which conveniently shows up at the bottom.The best part is that you don’t have to wait for the result.You can immediately go for another one if you feel that you could have captured it better.

The ability to capture life on the go is such an godsend for all of us who have been sentenced to a nomadic life that it’s difficult to imagine how one can cope without the portable pocket album of pictures of kids and family.In a faraway land in a stale hotel room environment just open your phone and start going through the pictures and videos of you and the kids splashing water on each other in Goa. Your heart will warm up and a smile is sure to get pasted on your lips.

For Bloggers the camera phone is the ubiquitous cameraman reporting all kind of events with you as the photo journalist.Almost all pictures on my blog have been taken by my camera phone at the airport, in the train , market , mountain and valley.Like a true partner your camera phone is always ready when you are. Its contribution is so great that it gives you ideas for blog posts – state of Chikankari workers in Lucknow, Urban rural divide as seen at a rural hyper market in MP, The beauty of waterfall in Goa and a photo feature on Churches in Bangalore as seen from your car window.Its all there just because I had a camera phone handy.

One word of advice though – special things are special and life is a one way journey.You miss a beat and you loose the rhythm so never ever go for a cheap camera phone which is not able to reflect the depth and color of your emotion.Look for stuff that is at least 2 mega pixels with a good quality lens and zoom.

You can have just one cameraman with you and it better be good.

8 comments on “Phono-graphy

  1. umapoems says:

    “special things are special and life is a one way journey.You miss a beat and you loose the rhythm ”
    true and well written post…
    liked it and voted
    check mine too special things are special and life is a one way journey.You miss a beat and you loose the rhythm

    • aahang says:

      Thanks for liking my post and voting for it. Did check out your poetry….keep blogging.

  2. Romeo Das says:

    That was really an interesting post man. Beautifully written. Just promoted it 🙂

    Hope you enjoy reading my post and promote it if you like – When love calls

    Take care and keep blogging 🙂

    • aahang says:

      i am glad you liked my post.Thanks.
      Read your post too.Simplistic and predictable.I think I am too old for that kind of stuff now 🙂
      all the best for the contest !

  3. Amropali says:

    i couldn’t find many people who wrote on phono-graphy.

    Its a nice post.
    I’ve written on the same topic, uyou can read it here it if u like:
    http://www.indiblogger.in/indipost.php?post=36282

    happy blogging.

  4. A simple yet such a nice post! 🙂

    • aahang says:

      Thanks Arjit 🙂 I had fun writing it for Indiblogger contest but I guess its quite low on the votes.

Leave a comment